Tracks and Invited Speakers

Tracks and Track Chairs

    1. Energy Conversion: Thermoelectrics and Solar Technologies
      • Organisers : Xiaoyuan Zhou (Chongqin University – xiaoyuan2013@cqu.edu.cn), Holger Kleinke (University of Waterloo – kleinke@uwaterloo.ca), Qipeng Lu (University of Science and Technology, Beijing – qipeng@ustb.edu.cn)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Jesse Maassen – First-principles transport modeling of thermoelectric: the unusual case of Germanium telluride
        • Guozhong Cao – From Lithium to Zinc-ion batteries: electroactive cathode materials
        • Yu-Chih Tseng – Thermoelectric Materials for Energy Recovery: Issues Other than ZT
        • Lin Jing – Elemental Red Phosphorus Photocatalysts for Energy Conversion and Environmental Remediation
        • Jiyan Dai – Thin film thermoelectric property enhancement by nanostructure and interface effect
        • Jianjun Tian – Stable and high efficiency colloidal CsPbI3quantum dots photovoltaics
        • Takao Mori – Nanostructured Thermoelectric Inorganic Materials for IoT Energy Harvesting
    2. Nanoenergy: Storage and Saving
      • Organisers : Francesca Soavi (Università di Bologna – francesca.soavi@unibo.it), Keryn Lian (University of Toronto – keryn.lian@utoronto.ca), Francesca Iacopi (University of Technology Sidney – francesca.Iacopi@uts.edu.au)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Shuhui Sun – Rational Design of Novel Nanomaterials for High-performance Zn-Ion and Zn-Air Batteries
        • Hadis Zarrin – White Graphene Electrolyte Membranes for Electrochemical Energy Storage and Conversion Systems
        • Dominic Bresser – Alternative Lithium-Ion Storage Mechanisms of Nanostructured Transition Metal Oxides
        • Ncholu Manyala – Porous carbon derived from biomass-waste okra as electrodes for high-performance electrochemical capacitors
        • Co Anne – Revealing Metastable Phases in Lithiated Sn Nanoparticles Using Operando Solid State NMR Methods
    3. Nanosensors and Nanoactuators
      • Organisers : Marcelo Ornaghi Orlandi (UNESP – marcelo.orlandi@unesp.br), Leyla Soleymani (Mc Master University), Yuvaraj Sivalingam (SRM Chennai – yuvaraj.si@ktr.srmuniv.ac.in), Tohid Didar (McMaster University – didar@mcmaster.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Corrado Di Natale – The sensing properties of porphyrins grafted onto zinc oxide nanostructures
        • Neftali Lenin Villarreal Carreno – Composite electrodes with sensor properties from biomass-derived materials, a green alternative
        • Tsuyoshi Minami – Organic thin-film transistor-based chemical sensors functionalized with artificial receptors
        • Hyeonsu Cho, Chang-Ki Baek – Highly Sensitive Silicon-based Electrochemical Sensor for On-site Fluoride Ion Monitoring
        • Tohid Didar – Nano-biomaterials for therapeutics and diagnostics
        • Mahla Poudineh – Continuous detection of glucose and insulin using a device-driven approach
    4. Nanoplasmonics
      • Organisers : Alexander Govorov (Ohio University – govorov@ohio.edu), Luca Razzari (INRS – razzari@emt.inrs.ca), Laura Fabris (Rutgers University – lfabris@rutgers.edu)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Viktoriia Babicheva – Transdimensional plasmonic lattices with multipole Mie-resonant nanoantennas
        • Gregory Hartland – Energy relaxation Processes in Plasmonic Nanostructure
        • Prashant Jain – Storing energy from plasmons in chemical bonds
        • Tien-Chang Lu – Active control of surface plasmon polariton nanolasers on graphene-insulator-metal platform 
        • Alberto Naldoni – Plasmon-enhanced photocatalysis in hydrogen generation and storage technologies
        • Andrea Toma – Deformation sensitive devices based on plasmonic nano-cavities
        • Kosei Ueno – Control of surface-enhanced Raman scattering signals by quasy-dark plasmon modes and infrared Purcell effects
        • Gary Wiederrecht – Ultrafast photoprocesses in nanostructured plasmonic metamaterials
    5. Nanoscale Science: Characterization and Modeling
      • Organisers : Maryam Ebrahimi (Lakehead University – mebrahim@lakeheadu.ca), Hidemi Shigekawa (Tsukuba – hidemi@ims.tsukuba.ac.jp), Osamu Takeuchi (Tsukuba – takeuchi@bk.tsukuba.ac.jp), Hong Guo (Mcgill University – hong.guo@mcgill.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Pavel Jelinek – Emerging exotic quantum phenomena in 1D molecular chains on surfaces
        • Willi Auwärter – Molecules on 2D Materials: Interface Characterization and In Situ Reactions
        • David Egger – Towards accurate properties of molecules and materials with optimally-tuned Range-Separated Hybrid Functionals
        • Kulbir Ghuman – Computational Modeling of Fuel Cell Materials
        • Shelley Claridge – Characterization and Control of nm-Resolution Patterning up to Macroscopic Scales 
        • Sabine Maier – On-surface synthesis of heteroatom-doped low-dimenstional carbon materials
        • Meike Stöhr – Molecular nanostructures on metals vs. graphene
        • Yousoo Kim (Surface and Interface Science Laboratory, RIKEN)
        • Yanjun Li – Study of the Oad charge state on TiO2(110) surface by AFM/KPFM
    6. Nanophotonics 
      • Organisers : Peter Mascher (McMaster University – mascher@mcmaster.ca), Nazir Kherani (University Toronto – kherani@ecf.utoronto.ca), Lyudmila Goncharova (University of Western Ontario – lgonchar@uwo.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Paul O’Brien – Novel Spectrally Selective Mirrors and Optical Cavities for Thermophotovoltaic Systems
    7. Nanomaterials
      • Organisers : Eva Hemmer (Ottawa – ehemmer@uottawa.ca), Claudiane Ouellet-Plamondon (ETS – claudiane.ouellet-plamondon@etsmtl.ca), Alberto Vomiero (Lulea University of Technology, University of Venice – alberto.vomiero@ltu.se)
      • Invited speakers :
        • Gunnar Westin – Complex composition and structure functional nano-materials through solution synthesis
        • Elisa Moretti – Shape-controlled Ce-Ti oxide nanosystems for photocatalytic applications
        • Nicola Pinna – Non-hydrolytic sol-gel chemistry to functional hybrid materials
        • Giovanni Franchini – Organic radical polymers for resistive memory device applications
        • François Perreault – Novel nano-enabled membrane systems for sustainable water treatment and desalination
        • Daniel Chua – Expanding the range of chalcogenide, oxides and phosphide catalyst for Clean Energy and other Applications
        • Jordi Arbiol – Nanowire networks at atomic scale: from growth mechanisms to local properties
        • Marie-Eve Aubin-Tam – Bacterial production of bio-inspired high-performance materials
        • Ghim Wei Ho – Nanostructured Materials for Photo/Photothermal Energy Conversion
        • Alessandro Patelli – Dual frequency atmospheric pressure plasma jet: a new tool for nanostructuring
    8. Nanofabrication and Quantum Engineering
      • Organisers : Sebastian Wachsmann-Hogiu (McGill University – sebastian.wachsmannhogiu@mcgill.ca), Mohammed Chaker (INRS – chaker@emt.inrs.ca), Sebastian Koelling (Polytechnique Montreal – sebastian.koelling@polymtl.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Sabrine Leslie – Single-molecule biotechnology platform for discovery and applications
        • Leyla Soleymani – Developing Hierarchical Wrinkled Surfaces for Biomedica and Biosensing Applications
        • Bo Cui – Nanofabrication on non-flat irregular surfaces
        • Erik Bakkers – Towards new Quantum Wire Systems
        • Giovanni Fanchini – A review on the nanofabrication of aperture-type cantilevers for scanning near-field optical microscopy and their applications in nanoscale light management
    9. Nanomedicine 
      • Organisers : Fiorenzo Vetrone (INRS – vetrone@emt.inrs.ca), Milica Radisic (University of Toronto – m.radisic@utoronto.ca), Houman Savoji (University of Toronto – houman.savoji@utoronto.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Laura Fabris – Monitoring Viral Evolution with Gold Nanostars and SERS
        • Noémie-Manuelle Dorval Courchesne – Bacterial Protein Nanofibers as Scaffolds for Functional Composites
        • Christopher Moraes – Nanostructured surfaces for mechano-bactericidal applications: when bacteria lie on a bed of nails
        • Naomi Matsuura – Acoustically active nanoscale colloids for cancer
        • Sara Mahshid – Nanosurface platforms based on 2D and 3D nanostructures for optical/electrical sensing
        • Yan Li – The Antimicrobial activity of MXene Quantum dots and the Mechanism behind
    10. Nanotools
      • Organisers : Tomaso Zambelli (ETH – zambelli@biomed.ee.ethz.ch), Sabrina Leslie (McGill University – sabrina.leslie@mcgill.ca), Jeffrey Mativetsky (Binghamton University – jmativet@binghamton.edu)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Peter Grutter – Measuring dynamics with atomic force microscopy
        • Vincent Tobard-Cossa – A nanotool to Support the solid-state Nanopore Research and the Development of Applications
    11. Nanoelectronics
      • Organisers : Emanuele Orgiu (INRS – emanuele.orgiu@emt.inrs.ca), Malgorzata Chrzanowska-Jeske (Portland State University – jeske@ece.pdx.edu)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Luis Hueso – Spintronics with van der Waals heterostructures
        • Cinzia Casiraghi – Printed Electronics enabled by Water-based 2D Material Inks
        • Simone Pisana – Nanoscale heat transport in 2D crystal films
        • Nuria Crivillers – Organic radicals as promising building blocks for electronics
        • Mirko Cinchetti – Towards multifunctional molecular devices
        • Benoît Piro – Ink-jet printed graphene-based Electrolyte Gated Transistors. Application to the Monitoring of Redox Reactions
        • Atiye Pezeshki – Transition metal chalcogenides (TMDCs) and Graphene for 2D-electronics applications: photoinverter, complementary inverter, photovoltaic effect and magnetoresistance
        • Michael Adachi – Thickness-Modulated Diodes using Two-Dimentional Transition Metal Dichalcogenides
    12. Nanobio
      • Organisers : Nurit Ashkenasy (Ben Gurion University of the Negev – nurita@bgu.ac.il), Sahika Inal (Kaust – sahika.inal@kaust.edu.sa) , R. Green (Imperial College – rylie.green@imperial.ac.uk)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Ron Naaman – Chiral Molecules and the Electron’s spin, A venue for new magnetic in bio systems
        • John Tovar – Electronic processes within pi-conjugated peptidic nanomaterials
        • Tzahi Cohen-Karni – Forming input/output (I/O) interfaces with excitable cells and tissue using nanocarbons
        • Diego Ghezzi – POLYRETINA: an injectable, wide-field and photovoltaic epi-retinal prothesis
        • Eleni Stavrinidou – Plant bioelectronics and plant biohybrids
        • Tyler Ray – Soft, Skin-interfaced microfluidic systems for clinical diagnostics
        • Hadar Ben-Yoav – Intelligent Microelectrodes Arrays for In Situ Analysis of Biofluids
        • Alon Gorodetsky – Dynamic Materials inspired by Cephalopods
        • Muhammed Hussain – Wearable Personalized Medical Platform Nanowires
        • Martin Kaltenbrunner – Bioinspired and Biodegradable Materials for Electronic Skins and Soft Robotic Actuators
        • Allon Hochbaum – Structure-function relationships in conductive supramolecular peptides and proteins
        • Nikhil Malvankar – Metal-like Conductivity in Microbial Protein Nanowires
    13. Nanopackaging
      • Organisers : Markondeyaraj Pulugurtha (Florida International University – mpulugur@fiu.edu), James Morris (Portland State University – jmorris@PDX.EDU)
    14. Stretchable and Wearable electronics
      • Organisers : Peyman Servati (University British Columbia – peymans@ece.ubc.ca), Fabio Cicoira (Polytechnique Montreal – fabio.cicoira@polymtl.ca), Anastasia Elias (University of Alberta – aelias@ualberta.ca), Wei Lin Leong (Nanyang Technological University – wlleong@ntu.edu.sg)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Madhu Bhaskaran – Oxide based stretchable devices for sensing, optics and memories
        • Tricia Breen Carmichael – A Textile-Centric Approach to Wearable Light-Emitting e-Textiles and Energy Storage
        • Yong-Young Noh – Development of High Performance Semiconductor Inks for Printed Field-Effect Transistors for Flexible Electronics
        • Beatrice Fraboni – Wearable textile electronic biosensors for healthcare applications
        • Derya Baran – Self-Healing and Stretchable 3D-Printed Organic Thermoelectrics
        • Nanshu Lu – Wireless E-Tatoos Chargeable On-The-Go
        • Tse Nga Ng – Flexible Organic Sensors and Actuators for Motor Skill Evaluation
        • Woo Soo Kim – 3D printed wearable sensors
        • Youfan Hu – Wearable Smart Sensor System
    15. 2D Materials
      • Organisers : Jill Miwa (Aarhus – miwa@phys.au.dk) Giorgio Contini (CNR, Italy – giorgio.contini@ism.cnr.it), Stefan Heun (CNR – Nano Pisa, Italy – stefan.heun@nano.cnr.it), Thomas Szkopek (McGill University – thomas.szkopek@mcgill.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Richard Martel – Raman characterization of defects in exfoliated black phosphorus
        • Maurizia Palummo – Electronic and optical properties of novel 2D materials by refined ab-initio simulations
        • Xiao Zhang – Structural Engineering of Novel Layered Materials
    16. Nanotechnology for Humanitarian and Peace Engineering
      • Organisers : Federico Rosei (INRS – rosei@emt.inrs.ca), Marta Cerruti (McGill University – marta.cerruti@mcgill.ca), Oumarou Savadogo (Polytechnique Montreal – oumarou.savadogo@polymtl.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Sumitra Rajagopalan – Smart Materials for peace and sustainable development: the case of thermoresponsive phase-change polymers
        • Daniel Oluwaseun Akinyele – Sustainability approach to clean energy options for energy-poor communities in developing countries
        • Suzanne Smith – Printed functionality for point-of-need diagnostics in resource-limited settings
        • Nick Drager – Tuberculosis Vaccine Initiative – a collaborative research and innovation partnership that works to discover and develop new TB vaccines
        • Songrui Zhao – Molecular Beam Epitaxy of AlGaN Nanowires for Ultraviolet Light Emitting
        • Emami Elham – e-health technology: concept, implementation, challenges
        • Melinda Foran – Non-networked WASH Technologies and Human Capacity to Meet the Basic Needs of People Living in Extreme Poverty
    17. Sustainable Electronics: Disassembling, Recycling and Eco-Design
      • Organisers : Hamid Karbasi (Conestoga College – Hkarbasi@conestogac.on.ca), Chloe Bois (Institut des Communications Graphiques et de l’Imprimabilité – chloe.bois@i-ci.ca), Patrick Malenfant (National Research Council Canada – patrick.malenfant@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca), Bhavana Deore (National Research Council Canada – Bhavana.Deore@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Inez Hua – Evolution of Smartphones Metal Content with its Fast-Improving Functionalities
        • Scott Loughran – An Efficient Electronic Waste Recycling Facility
    18. Nano-acoustics
      • Organisers : Xiaoning Jiang (North Carolina State University, xjiang5@ncsu.edu),   James B. Spicer (Johns Hopkins University, spicer@jhu.edu), Oluwaseyi Balogun (Northwestern University, o-balogun@u.northwestern.edu), Lidai Wang (City University of Hong Kong, lidawang@cityu.edu.hk)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Junjie Yao – Microbubble Enhanced Photoacoustic and Ultrasound Tomography
        • John Yeow – A Dual-Frequency Capacitive Micromachined Ultrasonic Transducer (CMUT) for Vapor Detection
        • Christine Demore – Bio-derived Gas Vesicle Nano Structures for Ultrasound Contrast Imaging
    19. Nano-Ferroics 
      • Organisers : Alain Pignolet (INRS-EMT – pignolet@emt.inrs.ca), Beatriz Noheda (University of Groningen – b.noheda@rug.nl), Daniel Sando (The University of New South Wales – daniel.sando@unsw.edu.au)
      • Invited speakers : 
        • Sylvia Matzen – Multiferroic tunnel junctions based on Hf0.5Zr0.5O2 tunnel barriers
        • Marty Gregg – Domain Wall Nanoelectronics: Recent Progress in both Fundamentals and Device Demonstrators
        • Agnès Barthélémy – Potential of SrTiO3-based 2DEG for spin-charge interconversion
        • Rogério de Sousa –  Magnetoelectric nanoparticles
        • Neus Domingo – Gradient-based electromechanical phenomena at the nanoscale: direct and converse flexoelectricity
        • Petro Maksymovych – Ferroics meet ionics in the land of van der Waals
        • Vincent Garcia – Tailoring antiferromagnetic textures in multiferroic BiFeO3
        • Nagarajan Valanoor – Nanoscale bubble domains in ultrathin ferroelectric films
        • Alexei Gruverman – Tunable Conductance of Domain Walls in LiNbO3Thin Films
        • Andreas Ruediger – A Raman study of polar modes in nanostructures and surfaces of strontium titanate
        • Lukas Eng – Ferroic Domain Walls: Challenges and Beauty
        • Mathias Kläui – Nanoscale Antiferromagnetics: Spintronics without magnetic fields and moving electrons